Pasta & the Old West? Try this Recipe for Cowboy Spaghetti

Okay. Yes. I was totally lazy this week when I did my menu planning! I just flipped through my Rachael Ray cookbooks. Sometimes my week doesn’t allow me to peruse all of my cookbooks looking for inspiration. I’ve got three kids, people! (Just for the record, for those families with more than three, how in the heck do you do it?).

Okay, back to Cowboys and Spaghetti. I’ve made this recipe a couple times before with good results.  I’m surprised I haven’t posted it yet.

There’s an interesting twist in the spaghetti sauce – fire roasted tomatoes. I think you’ll like it. Oh, and did I mention it has bacon in it? According to the hubs, it can’t be bad if bacon is involved.

Cowboy Spaghetti / Rachael Ray / Express Lane Meals

Servings:  6-7

Cook & Prep Time: 30 minutes tops (10 minutes for prepping and 20 minutes for cooking).

 You will need: 

  • A large deep skillet
  • pasta pot
  • a garlic press (unless you want to mince your garlic)
  • various spoons and spatulas
  • chef’s knife
  • measuring utensils (dry and liquid)

Ingredients:

1 lb of ground sirloin

1 lb of spaghetti

4 cloves of garlic, minced (or pressed)

1 medium onion, finely chopped

4 scallions, trimmed and chopped

3 slices of smoky bacon, chopped

1 14-oz can of fire-roasted tomatoes (diced or crushed)

1 8-oz can of tomato sauce

2 teaspoons of hot sauce (this is optional)

1 tablespoon of Worcestershire sauce

8 oz of shredded sharp Cheddar cheese

olive oil

salt and pepper

 Directions: 

 

Get out your pasta pot and your large deep-sided skillet. Fill the  pasta pot with water, add salt, get it to boiling.

Heat some olive oil in a deep skillet over medium-high heat and begin browning the bacon. When browned, move to a paper towel covered plate to drain.

In the same skillet brown the ground sirloin, crumble it as it browns. Once browned, add the onions and garlic, stirring into the meat. Cook for about 3 minutes to allow the onions to soften.

Now, add the spaghetti to the pasta pot and cook (about 8 minutes).

Season the meat with salt, pepper, hot sauce and Worcestershire sauce. Cook for about 5 minutes and then add the bacontomato sauce, scallions and fire-roasted tomatoes.

Let simmer for another 5 minutes and then add the well-drained spaghetti to the skillet. The meal is ready! 

 Side Dish:   Salad and good bread.

To serve, place some cowboy spaghetti in a shallow pasta bowl and top with some of the sharp cheddar cheese.

This will become a family favorite in your house. Trust me 🙂

Leave a comment